Explore Venice History

Although many buildings in the downtown area look old, only those constructed during the 1920’s have been included in this tour. In 1987 the city recognized the need to continue the architectural character of the original city and established the Architectural Review Board. The downtown area is part of the Historic Venice District administered by this Board. Any new construction or modifications to the exterior façade of a building in this district must conform to guidelines established by this Board. These standards will ensure the continuation of the “Northern Italian Renaissance” style of architecture within the city. Because of these efforts, the City of Venice will continue to be the beautiful "City on the Gulf".

307 W. Venice Avenue

0122img center crop

This was one of several buildings owned by Mr. Estes in Venice. Construction of this building was started in September 1926. By 1927, it was the home of Venice Stationary Company, Meare’s Men’s Shop, and the construction firm of Latimer and Lee.

During the 1940s, it was the home of the Venice Gondolier, and a radio and TV store. Since TVs were not common during this time period, the store owner had a “public” TV in the window. A bench on the sidewalk facing the store window allowed those without a TV at home to relax and view programs during the evening hours. By the 1960s, radio station WAMR had a studio on the second floor.

307 W Venice Ave

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Historical documentation provided by:
Venice Heritage Inc.
Photographs provided by:Venice Museum & Archives

Newsletter

Click Here to Read Past Issues of the Venice MainStreet Newsletter

VisitFlorida Logo

Our Platinum Partners


The Venice Company
Freedom Boat Club
Ehrhart Family Foundation