Explore Venice History

Although many buildings in the downtown area look old, only those constructed during the 1920’s have been included in this tour. In 1987 the city recognized the need to continue the architectural character of the original city and established the Architectural Review Board. The downtown area is part of the Historic Venice District administered by this Board. Any new construction or modifications to the exterior façade of a building in this district must conform to guidelines established by this Board. These standards will ensure the continuation of the “Northern Italian Renaissance” style of architecture within the city. Because of these efforts, the City of Venice will continue to be the beautiful "City on the Gulf".

311 W. Venice Avenue

0122img center cropThis two-story building was owned by Wm. E. Mohler and originally housed the Woolard Furniture Company and the J. T. Hardware Company. As was common during the 1920s, there were rental apartments on the second floor. 

Social notes in the Venice News chronicled the arrival of winter residents from as far away as Ontario, Canada to rent these apartments . The second floor façade clearly shows the raised stucco relief that defined the “Northern Italian” architectural theme for the city. Later this building housed the Venice Electric Supply Company and the Venice Tile Company.

 

Historical documentation provided by:  Venice Heritage Inc.

Photographs provided by:  Venice Museum & Archives.

Newsletter

Click Here to Read Past Issues of the Venice MainStreet Newsletter

VisitFlorida Logo

Our Platinum Partners


The Venice Company
Freedom Boat Club
Ehrhart Family Foundation